Events & News

The MAA Speaker Series: "The Vis Moot Journey: How to Ace the Oral Rounds"


The MAA is delighted to host these fantastic panelists: Prof. Stephanie A. Vaughan, Mr. Sajid Suleman, Ms. Živa Filipič, Mr. Cesar Pereira FCIArb, and Ms. Elizabeth Chan (陳曉彤) to share with you the techniques, tactics, and strategies you will need during the oral rounds! The webinar will be moderated by Ms. Mariya Davis and Ms. Denise Müller.

 All Mooties and Oralists are invited to register for the MAA’s next episode of the Vis Moot Journey Series: “How to Ace the Oral Rounds”. The webinar is scheduled to take place on Tuesday, February 22, 2022, 09:00 AM (EST) / 3:00 PM (CET) / 10:00 PM (HKT).

You can register for the webinar using the following link: https://withersworldwide.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_V2jc81DITaOLYVJV85R9SA

The webinar is free of charge for Premium MAA Members and EUR 10 for Standard MAA Members and Non-MAA Members.

Recording of the webinar will be available to Premium members exclusively! We welcome you to sign up or upgrade your account to Premium Membership for EUR 20: https://lnkd.in/d-cp3X5

 Premium Members not only receive free access to all of the MAA's webinars (including the recordings), but also get online access to the Vindobona Journal as well as priority access to the MAA projects.

 For any queries, feel free to contact us at: maaconferences@maa.net



Webinar on "Oral Submissions- From Preparation to Presentation"

The session themed “Oral Submissions - From Preparation to Presentation” will be taken up by our esteemed speaker Dr. Rajesh Sharma, Senior Lecturer at RMIT University, Melbourne on 29th January, 2022 at 3:30 P.M. IST (10 A.M. GMT).

This session will cover the aspects relating to Oral Submissions and its essential elements.

Register here: https://forms.gle/TWM4T3UmiRz7937q6


The MAA Speaker Series: "The Vis Moot Journey: How to Make the Most of the Vis Moots and Embark on a Successful Career"


The Moot Alumni Association is thrilled to announce that its next MAA Speaker Series webinar features Ms. Louise Barrington [International Arbitrator, Founder of Vis East Moot (Hong Kong), Co-Founder of ArbitralWomen], who will speak on a topic that would be of utmost interest to the Vis Moot Community: "The Vis Moot Journey: How to Make the Most of the Vis Moots and Embark on a Successful Career". The webinar is scheduled to take place on Saturday, 15 January 2022 at 2:30 p.m. (CET) / 8:30 a.m. (EST) / 9:30 p.m. (HKT).

We invite all mooties, students, young practitioners and others interested to register for this webinar and listen to Ms. Barrington share her insights as to how to build a successful career and to utilize the Vis Moots in multiple ways!

You can register for the Webinar from the following link: https://withersworldwide.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_QZ5EgyXkT8aPa7lGYOQ9Gw

Margarita Drobyshevskaya, Member of the MAA Core Team, will moderate this webinar. 

The webinar is free of charge for the Premium MAA Members and EUR 10 for Standard MAA Members and Non-MAA Members.

You can become a Premium MAA Member here: https://maa.net/membership and get free and priority access too all of MAA conferences, webinars, and others exclusive projects!

Recording of this webinar will be made exclusively available to Premium Members only!


The Vis Moot Journey: "How to Draft a Winning Memorandum for Respondent”

Is it better for your Respondent’s memorandum to be more responsive to or independent from the relevant Claimant's Memorandum? And to what extent? Is it beneficial to receive a "stronger" Claimant's memorandum as opposed a less stronger Claimant's memorandum?

While advancing as far as possible in the oral arguments is a top Mootie goal, no one can deny the joy of receiving any award in the Vis Moot Competitions. This includes winning awards for the written memoranda.

Following a very successful webinar on ‘How to Draft a winning Claimant's Memorandum’, the MAA is proud to announce the next webinar in its "Vis Moot Journey" webinar series: “How to Draft a Winning Memorandum for Respondent”. This webinar is scheduled to take place on 16 January 2022 at 12:00 p.m. (EST) / 18:00 p.m. (CET) / 17 January at 01:00 a.m. (Hong Kong Time). 

The MAA is delighted to feature an experienced and top-notch panel featuring: Ms. Isabela Deveza, Prof. Raluca Papadima, Dr. Edgardo Muñoz, and Dr. Monika Prusinowska with the MAA's very own Messrs. Ivan Levy and Ignacio Tasende moderating, what will prove to be an insightful and lively discussion. The panelists will share their experiences and insights on writing responding memoranda and will discuss, what they believe to be the most efficient and effective approaches.

This webinar is sponsored by the Asian International Arbitration Centre (AIAC). 

You can register by clicking on the following link:

https://withersworldwide.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_9XDhA8r4RCCxdd8Utl2ydQ

The webinar is free of charge for the Premium MAA Members and EUR 10 for Standard MAA Members and Non-MAA Members. Recording will be available to Premium members exclusively!

We welcome you to sign up or upgrade your account to Premium Membership (https://maa.net/membership/). Premium Members not only receive free access to all of the MAA's webinars (including the recordings), they also get online access to the Vindobona Journal as well as priority to the MAA projects.

For any queries, feel free to contact MAA at: maaconferences@maa.net


Webinar : Everything You Need To Know About Palm Oil

How can one represent Claimant or Respondent without fully understanding the subject matter in dispute? As our Mooties know, this year's problem is all about palm oil! A product that's global demand is rapidly increasing, making this topic highly relevant not only to Mooties but also Practitioners.

The MAA has been given the opportunity to host a webinar, generously sponsored by Withersworldwide, featuring two special guests who provided key assistance to Professor Stefan Kroll in the drafting of the Vis Moot Problem, Ms. Karina Brenneis and Mr. Ade Cahyat. 

Our guest speakers work with the German Society for International Cooperation ("GIZ"), an international organization focused on the field of international cooperation for sustainable development, which includes supporting sustainable and climate-friendly palm oil production and procurement. In this rare webinar, Ms. Brenneis and Mr. Cahyat will give their insight on the palm oil industry.

We have no doubt that practitioners, mooties, coaches, and anyone interested in commodities sector would benefit from this unique webinar “Everything You Need To Know About Palm Oil!” The webinar will take place on Friday, January 7, 2022 at 12 pm (CET) / 7 PM (HKT) / 6 AM (EST).

You can register for the webinar using the following link: https://withersworldwide.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_MTsSjcSwQb2gs57lglOQ_w 

No recording of this webinar will be available at the request of our guests.

For any queries, please email: maaconferences@maa.net


Webinar on Checklist for Memo Submission

The session themed “Checklist for Memo Submission” will be taken up by our esteemed speaker Dr. Rajesh Sharma, Senior Lecturer at RMIT University, Melbourne on 29th November,2021 at 3:30 P.M. IST(10 A.M. GMT). This session will cover the aspects relating to memorial making and its essential elements.

Register here: https://forms.gle/EbAM1FpGEbg9ZR68A


7th Conference on International Arbitration and the UN Convention for the International Sale of Goods

The Speaker Lineup includes Gary Born, Jacomijn van Haersolte-van Hof , Ann Ryan Robertson , Xavier Favre-Bulle Andrea Orta, Stefan Vogenauer, Ingeborg Schwenzer, Daniel Girsberger, Pilar Perales Viscasillas, Janie Soublière, Alexander McLin, Ricardo de Buen, Olga Hamama, Jose Antonio Moreno Rodriguez and Edgardo Muñoz organizing the event and feeling indebted to all of them. Facultad Derecho Universidad Panamericana GDL ZOOM event.

Read more: https://www.linkedin.com/posts/edgardomunozarbitrationcisg_save-the-date-the-stellar-lineup-includes-activity-6869346828408688640-NPvz


The Vis Moot Journey


How can a Claimant's memorandum receive an Honourable Mention or better yet, be placed in the Top 3 spots?

Both coaches and mooties may well have the same question. Continuing “The Vis Moot Journey” series, the MAA is launching its next webinar: How to Draft a Winning Memorandum for Claimant, which will take place on November 14th 2.30 p.m. (EST) / 8.30 p.m. (CET) // 15th November 3.30 a.m. (Hong Kong Time).

The webinar is free of charge for the Premium MAA Members. You can also become a Premium MAA Member from this link: https://maa.net/membership/ and get free and priority access to all of our conferences, webinars, and other exclusive events! The recording of this webinar will be uploaded on the MAA website for premium members to access.

For any queries, please email: maaconferences@maa.net


Moot Alumni Association (MAA) Speaker Series


The Moot Alumni Association is hosting Prof. Dr. Stefan Kröll on Saturday, November 13, 2021 at 10 a.m. (CET) / 4 a.m. (EST) / 5 p.m. (HKT) for an invigorating and informative talk on highly relevant subject of Conflict of Laws in Arbitration as part of their MAA Speaker Series.

The webinar is free of charge for the Premium MAA Members. You can also become a Premium MAA Member from this link: https://maa.net/membership/ and get free and priority access to all of our conferences, webinars, and other exclusive events!

For any queries, please email: maaconferences@maa.net


Training Program on Brainstorming & Research for Vis Moot

The program was led in two sessions - first session on ‘Brainstorming Session on Vis Moot’ by Mr. Harprabdeep Singh , Barrister-at-Law at Alan Leong, SC's Chambers, where sir shared his valuable tips on moot problem reading techniques and greatly emphasised upon getting the facts together properly. He also explained how to go about a case in its understanding, analysing, and researching while preparing arguments for the trial. When it comes to Oral rounds, his approach is to pay more attention to the controversial documents and having sit with a portion of streamlined data that comes out of the research process.

The other session particularly on ‘Research for Vis Moot’ by Mr. Lavesh Kirpalani , Barrister at Prince's Chambers, brought forward some new ideas and terminology on how to go about researching for a Vis moot. Sir shared his expert tips and tricks for researching efficiently. He also focused on necessity of background reading of important conventions and texts. The key takeaways from this session were research skills necessary to narrow down one’s search and researching in a profound manner, while updating oneself with the latest changes in law to ensure the necessary changes.

Both the sessions were an immensely helpful and learning time spent to those, willing to learn the art of researching for a moot in general and to get know the tips and tricks from such experts as to how does one go about while preparing for a moot and being equipped to come up with quality content.

Watch here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ENeiOazVm-o 



Webinar on Getting Started with Vis Moot

The session was taken by Dr. Rajesh Sharma sir, who shared with the participants the initial prep strategies and how to read the problem, frame arguments. Dr. Sharma has coached ex-Vis champion teams so coming all this from that experience will be very valuable for teams preparing to contend in Vis moot , 2022.

Watch here - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uwNxIL15oXo&t=12s




Launch Event

This ceremony was the first step towards achieving our noble vision - Arbitration for ALL as we have made it a goal of diversity, dignity, and unity for all in the field of arbitration. The entire ceremony was made accessible to differently abled people as the entire session was interpreted in sign language to ensure that the all the viewers and arbitration enthusiasts do not miss out on this wonderful opportunity and to make ‘Arbitration for all’ in real sense. It successfully reflected how the Asia Pacific Vis Pre Moot will integrate Arbitration enthusiasts with any kind of disability from across the globe to understand the nuances of arbitration and participate in this Pre Moot. The esteemed speakers shared their wonderful experiences and ideologies behind the transpiration of this vision from being India centric to Asia Pacific.

Watch it here- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7vwJj-3FulM